Nuclear Weapon Prohibition Treaty

50 countries have now ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, which comes into force today.

Under an Albanese Labor Government, Australia will sign and ratify the Treaty after taking account:- the need to ensure effective verification and enforcement architecture,- interaction of the Treaty with the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, and- achieving universal support.

Nuclear weapons are so destructive that it is a global humanitarian imperative to consign them to the dustbin of history.

Please share to show your support for the #nuclearban.